Basic (theory and probably stupid) question #2

What's Hot
Placidcasual79Placidcasual79 Frets: 977
edited September 2018 in Theory
Hello all

Yesterday I asked a stupid question about. amps (Cabs vs combos)....

today its theory - and I'd be really grateful for any help you wise and wonderful bunch can provide. 

I enjoy listening to reggae and ska. Apologies if this is a stupid question - but are there scales or patterns that are prevalent in these styles? Anything I could learn that would help me? I am basic and self taught so I struggle - for example with the playing of Roddy 'Radiation' Byers of the specials or Peter Tosh of the Wailers. 

When I manage to work out their parts I cannot understand the scales they're using (essentially anything other than a blues pentatonic and I am lost lol)

Any help gratefully appreciated 

James 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• vizviz Frets: 10644
    edited September 2018
    Major and mixolydian mainly, with lots of I-IV-V progressions. 
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
  • I've heard quite a few minor pentatonics in the solos on Live at the Lyceum
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • Thank you @viz and @Phil_aka_Pip ;

• EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16253
    edited December 2018
    Late to the party on this! Having played a bunch of Roddy's parts it depends a bit but he tends to stick to major and minor pentatonics.