Help needed for which fingers to use

What's Hot
Disclaimer. Im pretty new to playing, mainly strumming open chords on accoustic, but I’ve just bought a G&l legacy and I’m getting a bit more adventurous and practicing a lot more than I ever have.

I’m trying to learn Books From Boxes, Maximo Park from some tab I’ve found on songster and I’ve got stuck at the pre chorus with chord fingering. I can’t find anything that seems comfortable or right for the x1333x bit onwards. Not sure how to post pictures or I’d put a screen grab of the bit of the tab where I’m stuck, but hopefully this will make sense to someone. 

Any help hugely appreciated
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LestratcasterLestratcaster Frets: 1079
    edited October 2018
    Looks like a B flat barre chord to me. I normally use first finger for the 1 and the third finger to barre the 3rd fret of the other strings. 

So this without the high e string? And the 3rd finger doing the 3 notes in a row on the 3rd fret.

• FuengiFuengi Frets: 2849
    I still struggle with the major barre chord from the A string. Have tried third and pinky finger but neither feels (or sounds) good. 

Practice, practice, practice! 
  • Jay1Jay1 Frets: 4
    Ahhhh that’s why I’m struggling. Still can’t get to grips with barre chords. 

As Fuengi says time to practice practice practice
  • HAL9000HAL9000 Frets: 9553
    One of the things with barre chords is that you wrist position needs to be different from that used for open chords. Your wrist needs to be under, rather than slightly behind, the neck of the guitar - to the extent that your 'barre' finger and the back of your hand form a straighter line than you're probably used to. Also, barres are much easier to play the further up the fretboard you are - barres at the first fret are definitely hard work.
    I play guitar because I enjoy it rather than because I’m any good at it
  • ShrewsShrews Frets: 2961