What synth?

What's Hot
TeleMasterTeleMaster Frets: 10178
edited February 2019 in Other Instruments
Hi. 

I play piano to a decent level. Classically trained yadda yadda. Also play guitar (main instrument) and love messing around with effects, DAWs and mixing/producing. 

I bought something from a guitar store but I don’t want it. I’ve been offered a swap but not a refund due to the time I’ve had it, which is fine. So, I was wondering what to get and I figured why not try a synth? I love alternative and electro so it seems like the perfect progression for me to get a good synth and start making some cool synthy sounds!

my budget is £1000. I’d like a sequencer, usb connectivity, drum type sounds, arpeggiator would be cool too. I’d like some weird and wonderful sounds, but also some generic type stuff too. 

The Moog Grandmother looks cool, but I’m a complete beginner with these so I’m not 100% sure as of yet. 

Any help with a cool product around this price range would be great. 

Thanks!!!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14411
    The Moog Grandmother looks cool, but I’m a complete beginner with these so I’m not 100% sure as of yet. 
    Reid, Gordon. https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/moog-grandmother

synth ... budget is £1000 ... sequencer, usb connectivity, drum type sounds, arpeggiator would be cool too. I’d like some weird and wonderful sounds, but also some generic type stuff too. 
    Arturia, Behringer, Casio, KORG, Novation, Roland, Yamaha and others all have interesting products in your price bracket.

Everybody who replies to this thread will suggest something different. For my tastes, the £1k would go on a pre-owned Roland Juno 106 that has undergone the chip renewal service. I would leave sequencing to a computer DAW. There is probably a Behringer 106 clone that does far more for far less money.