How to improve recall?

What's Hot
Been playing about 20 years, mainly self taught by ear. Can't read music and spent years mainly playing original material in bands. Can manage to play a range of things by following tab including some challenging solos, but no matter how many times I repeat it, once I close the tab down, my recall is crap! This is even the same in trying to recall song structures!

Any tips to improve recall, aside from repetition?
Current Gear: 2006 Gibson Les Paul Classic, Charvel So Cal, 1999 Gibson SG Standard, 2008 Fender Road Worn Strat, 2008 Fender Road Worn Telecaster, Partscaster SRV-lookalike Strat, Martin D28, Gretsch Jim Dandy, Kemper Profiler and Kemper Kab, Marshall JCM800 2203 (Dan Gower modded), Marshall 1960A w/Greenbacks, Positive Grid Spark Mini, various pedals and recording gear!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LestratcasterLestratcaster Frets: 1079
    edited March 2019
    Break up the sections (I usually do it by small amount of bars at a time) and piece it together. Also use a metronome to get the timing right, and I will say repeat even though you said aside from that haha.

Also singing the phrase/riff/whatever it is helps.
  • BlueingreenBlueingreen Frets: 2582
    Spread out the learning a bit.  Say you think it will take you a couple of hours to really nail a part.  You'll probably find one hour gets you most of the way there.  Stop, do something else, and sleep on it.  Next day spend another 15 minutes playing it.  Maybe leave it a couple of days, spend another 15 minutes.  2-3 days later, 10 minutes.  2-3 days, 10 minutes. 2-3 days, 10 minutes.  You've still spent 2 hours, but you're much more likely to remember it.

Obviously times are illustrative.  Actual times will depend on how difficult the part is etc.  Two reasons I think this works better:

- your mind works on stuff when you're asleep