If I wanted to buy a 410 cab and head...

What's Hot
prlgmnrprlgmnr Frets: 3964
Mainly for my practise room/studio but also to cover me in terms of power requirements such that I would never ever find myself in my life wanting to buy a more powerful bass amp (I just think that lots of speakers and plenty of wattage is the best way to get decent clear bass at any volume), what should I get?

Ampeg SVT410 HLF and some kind of SVT-Pro?

GK Neo 410 and whatever head, I don't really know the range?

Orange OBC410? I have an Orange 2x12 and it's a great cab.

I'd been considering Ashdown or Trace Elliot to keep the price down but @ICBM has turned me off these what with the "almost definitely will set on fire" thing.

As I'm a guitarist first, a drummer second, a vocalist third, a saxophonist fourth and a bassist soundly last I don't want to go past lets say £700-1000, so probably ruling out Mesa gear unless I find an absolute bargain.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 23906
    Or get a modern 2x10 that will actually shift the same amount of air as an old 4x10.

Barefaced Two10 will do that with ease. Lightweight, very loud indeed. They come up used on Basschat sometimes too.

• ICBMICBM Frets: 71950
    Markbass Little Mark III head and a Barefaced cab, or Mark cab if you can't afford that.

*Old* Trace Elliot gear is not actually that unreliable, but it weighs an absolute ton and there's really no need for that these days. Ashdown appear to be less bad now than they used to be, but I still don't trust them...

Modern Ampeg gear isn't that good and mostly weighs too much as well.