Bass guitar distortion

Hi all
Im kinda new to all this studio stuff.....when i say new i mean I bought some second hand gear a while ago and not really played around with it much and really dont know that much about it.
Anyway, I wanted to record my bass guitar and found I was getting huge ammounts of distortion - especially on an open E string.
I am running a preSonous Audiobox USB and PreSonous Studio One Prime, on both my lap top and desk top PC.
Bass is plugged directly in to my Audiobox via cable.
I have sound comming through earphones plugged in to audiobox and Studio One will record the track, but everything is really really distorted.
I think its probably me not knowing what all the dials and settings are.
Can anyone please give me any guidance as to how to set this up and what settings I should be using on the audiobox/track
Thanks in advance
Russ
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14423
    If your bass guitar is plugged in to the preSonus devices using a quarter inch jack socket, unwanted clipping distortion suggests one of the following:
    1) the input gain trim control needs turning down.
    2) if your bass guitar has any active circuitry, the battery could be going flat.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • KeefyKeefy Frets: 2286
    Are you trying to get the recorded level up to the 0dB mark? If so, don't! Aim to be peaking at -18dB.
  • RussGRussG Frets: 15
    If your bass guitar is plugged in to the preSonus devices using a quarter inch jack socket, unwanted clipping distortion suggests one of the following:
    2) if your bass guitar has any active circuitry, the battery could be going flat.
    Keefy said:
    Are you trying to get the recorded level up to the 0dB mark? If so, don't! Aim to be peaking at -18dB.
    Sorry guys, not been on here for a while, new job and such like.