Tell me it's a bad idea

What's Hot
How hard is it to actually build a guitar?

I've been thinking about buying a new Telecaster but I know there will be so many little things I won't be happy with that I wonder whether building something myself might be the best way forwards. I've never done anything like this before but I don't mind doing general DIY stuff on the house and car and in my general gung-ho style I think 'how hard can it be?'

Tell me this is a bad idea before I end up spending a load of dosh on a pile of firewood!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MLten80MLten80 Frets: 162
    Buy a cheap kit first imo
     You'll get an idea of the building/wiring/setup

If you bugger it up....sell it on fleabay  :)
  • lovestrat74lovestrat74 Frets: 2523
    Check out some of the excellent build threads in making and modding then you will get a better understanding of the level of work involved and the tools you will need ;)
  • Mark1960Mark1960 Frets: 326
    This is a bad idea! - But do it anyway.

I'm thinking on similar lines. My son who also plays guitar is back from Uni next week, and i thought it would give him / us something to do together over the summer months, so i think I will invest in a Gear4music kit or something similar. They only cost around £75.00, and it will be a (hopefully) half decent backup guitar for gigs.
  • MegiiMegii Frets: 1670
    Useful/necessary skills include:

- ability to do a fret level (not needed if you buy a neck from GSPBASSES on here)
    - ability to cut nut slots
    - ability to do the soldering/wiring you want, and it helps to understand a bit about guitar electronics (not rocket science)
    - ability to drill holes of the right diameter/depth, in the right places
    - if using an unfinished body, then you need a do-able way to finish it e.g. Tru Oil, Wudtone or whatever