Advice on buying a 14 fret nylon strung acoustic?

What's Hot
Asking for advice on the above for a mate who is looking at his options that meet following criteria: 

• Nylon strung, 14 fret
  • nut width 1 7/8ths
  • preferably wothout any electrics fitted
So far, the Yamaha NTX 700c looks a possible option, but are there others out there he should be looking at?  I have no knowledge of these types of guitars whatsoever so any suggestions greatfully received.  Thank you
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BahHumbugBahHumbug Frets: 350
    I don’t know about meeting those specs completely but if the budget will stretch to it I understand the Taylor Nylons are worth looking at.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • robinbowesrobinbowes Frets: 3040
    I have an NTX900FM - I really like it. I assume the NTX700C is similar.

R.
  • ToneControlToneControl Frets: 11889
    edited July 2019
    Beware:

A 14 fret nylon guitar will probably be quieter and not sound as good as a 12 fret, due to the position of the bridge, a cutaway 12 fret should sound better. Not an issue when plugged in of course.

A narrow nut on a nylon guitar can be problematic for "normal" nylon style playing (i.e. classical and fingerstyle). I bought one 18 months ago thinking it would be a good compromise, and found that I couldn't play my normal nylon material on a narrowly spaced set of nylon strings 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • GTCGTC Frets: 263
    I had a Taylor 214ceN lefty which I was somewhat underwhelmed by. I tried the 12 fret cutaway Cordoba Fusion and Studio Negra guitars and these were a lot better - but didn't feel quite right.

I've also tried the Godin Multiac SA and Encore nylon strung - and I didn't like the physical balance or the unplugged sound - loud enough to be noticeable but not good enough quality to be used.