EB3,EB0,newer SG bass any owners on forum

What's Hot
wrinkleygitwrinkleygit Frets: 256
Gas is a strange thing, for some inexplicable reason the thought of owning one of these has popped into my head, over the years I’ve owned a fair selection of basses but never anything with Gibson on the headstock.
Any past or present owners care to offer any guidance.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SchnozzSchnozz Frets: 1946
    I had a late 60s / early 70s EB3 made by Hoyer and it was an amazing bass for the money (£500-£600).

The chickenhead switch could create 4001 tones as well as those of an EB3.

I sold it because the 30" scale with flatwounds didn't sound as good as my Bravewood '55 Precision replica.

If I had more funds at the time I would have kept both, but I was a student and could only afford the one bass.

If you're going Gibson then I would try to find one where the owner has already bought the Hipshot replacement bridge, but I'd still want the 3 point in the case. 
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14412
    Tried an SG Bass last year. It played nicely but its simplified NV, BV, T control layout seemed pretty restrictive compared to the traditional 2V, 2T and rotary selector arrangement.

anything with Gibson on the headstock.
    Thunderbirds have a following. The Gibson bass guitars that I fancied were the RD and Victory. The former is now hugely expensive. The latter does not come up for sale very often.
    You say, atom bomb. I say, tin of corned beef.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72253

The Gibson bass guitars that I fancied were the RD and Victory. The former is now hugely expensive.
    Not sure why, because all the ones I’ve played have also been hugely heavy and a bit clunky.

In fact apart from the Thunderbird (I had a ‘76) and the earlier EBs (a ‘61 EB-2 was the best), most of the Gibson basses I’ve owned or played have been a bit clunky...