Thorpy Fat General vs Diamond Compressor

What's Hot
JohnnysevenJohnnyseven Frets: 905
My birthday is coming up and my wife is asking me what I would like for a present. I really can't think of anything other than i've fancied a Thorpy Fat General for a while. However i've been using a Diamond Compressor for a few years and think it's great and i'm wondering if there's any point swapping for a Fat General. Will it give me anything the Diamond can't? Will it make a difference for the better to my sound? FYI I use a compressor as an always on pedal to smooth out the sound, to give a little boost and compression to dirt pedals to add a bit more thickness and saturation. Any help is appreciated.
My trading feedback can be seen here - http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/58242/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MajorscaleMajorscale Frets: 1553
    There's really only one way to find out. We will all have our individual opinions about our favourite pedals, but there is absolutely no substitute for trying things with YOUR rig and YOUR ears. Good luck.

The Fat General is fantastic though!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • merlinmerlin Frets: 6598
    Get it! Then decide the Diamond suits you better, then sell it to me. Simple. 
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • JohnnysevenJohnnyseven Frets: 905
    Unfortunately it being a birthday present from my wife puts me in a difficult position if I want to sell it.
    My trading feedback can be seen here - http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/58242/
  • brojanglesbrojangles Frets: 362
    I've got a Diamond and use it in a similar way. I imagine the Fat General would give you a bigger range of options, more squish if you want it, and a blend control to play with.