Guitarist in the room!...

What's Hot
BeardyAndyBeardyAndy Frets: 716
edited August 2019 in Bass
I've just gotten involved with a band/jam kind of thing but we have too many guitarists and not enough bassists so I've thrown my hat into the ring as temp bassist until a proper musician turns up!

I've not played a bass since my teens and I've got a decades old P bass copy that I inherited and that's it, will i kill my 30 year old Fender Champ 12 if i run the bass through it at any volume? Would i be better buying a cheap used bass amp and sell it on when (or if, maybe i'm a closet bassist?) i'm done?

New strings are on the way and I've been bingeing on "Bass guitar lessons for guitarists" videos on YouTube, any other tips? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JezWyndJezWynd Frets: 6021
    Wouldn't advise it at any volume, esp if competing with a drummer. Okay for home practise and acoustic jams, anything else may kill it.

Better look for an old Peavey combo or similar. iI you can stretch to it, one of the new Fender Rumble combos, v lightweight and sound decent.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • sweepysweepy Frets: 4158
    Seconded old Peavey combo or Fender Rumble, cheap as chips 
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16253
    My son's Rumble 40 cost £100 used, I think, and it has gigged. One of the bigger ones you'd be laughing. It is so lightweight it's positively weird. It's an okay clean amp for guitar as well ( should you want to take up bass and jazz funk guitar it'll be a bargain). 
    If there is a reasonable PA at the jam you might get away plugged into that, may not be brilliant but not as noticeably awful as plugging an electric guitar straight in would be. 
    Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71956