Watch Geeks Needed

What's Hot

Comments

• NeilNeil Frets: 3621
    Lots of very nice vintage watches about, I have a thing for Speedmasters personally.

Here is my collection...

http://www.freewebs.com/neil271052

TBH if you are buying one watch you won't go far wrong with used Rolex sports models. Money in the bank really.

I bought these two for £2000 and £1600 respectively, now worth around £9k for both and going up all the time. You can wear them for nothing and make money if you sell.

1008270002-1jpg

Cheaper?

Always go for Seiko IMO. Not interested in watches that purposely try to ape Rolexes or whatever .

Some lovely auto Seiko's at great prices, try to go for 4R15 movement models. Good quality and more accurate than the old 7S26. 

I do like vintage Seiko and have quite a collection. You can still buy them reasonably if you know what you are looking for.

I prefer the 1960's myself...

Seiko's first chronograph from the Tokyo Olympics in 1964

31890157944ff885026f02ea9a6eceb61cfjpg

DSCN2925

DSCN2924jpg

Omega's Seamaster is probably the best value in  top marque Swiss sports watches, you can probably pick one up £1500.

Great watches. Everything is high quality. Case, bracelet, the lot. I have the blue (Bond) and black model. They come in auto and quartz.

If you want a quality classic watch you won't go far wrong with a Datejust.

It's not a classic for nothing.

If buying top quality Swiss (or Japanese) watches I would always be looking at the used market.

Rather like guitars, you get a lot more for your money and the latest models may not always be to your taste.

Hope this helps a bit.
    0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • I really do appreciate the recommendations guys, but I think it's fair to say I won't be buying a £2k Rolex sports model when I'm interested in Bauhaus designs on a budget ;-)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • RaymondLinRaymondLin Frets: 11873