New Masterwound PAF replica pickup ... The 'Last Word'

What's Hot
OilCityPickupsOilCityPickups Frets: 10268
in Made in the UK tFB Trader

For some time I've been building PAF style pickups in my Standard and Masterwound ranges, striving to keep the sound as authentic as possible yet keep the price down. There comes a time however when all the experience I've gained in repairing and rewinding genuine 50s PAFs has to result in a no holds barred replica ... no concessions.
Above you see one of the prototypes: the cover showing the unique shape and tooling marks that characterise the real deal ... 

Butyrate bobbins, PVA plain enamel wire, unpotted and proud. 

I started playing about with PAFs when I worked in the back room repairs area of music shop at seventeen, and this is the culmination of forty years experience handling, playing and latterly rebuilding these classic pickups. 

They are simply the most accurate replicas of an Iconic pickup I can make.

And no, they aren't cheap ... but they are my 'Last Word' on the PAF.

Professional pickup winder, horse-testpilot and recovering Chocolate Hobnob addict.
Formerly TheGuitarWeasel ... Oil City Pickups  ... Oil City Blog 7 String.org profile and message  

0reaction image LOL 7reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Rowby1Rowby1 Frets: 1277
    edited August 2019
    So is the difference between these and the Bean-Os the covers, tape and hook up wire?

Look great anyway Ash, still loving the Bean-O’s in my Heritage. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • lovestrat74lovestrat74 Frets: 2513
    Cool! Any sound bites?
  • OilCityPickupsOilCityPickups Frets: 10268
    edited August 2019 tFB Trader
    Rowby1 said:
    So is the difference between these and the Bean-Os the covers, tape and hook up wire?

Look great anyway Ash, still loving the Bean-O’s in my Heritage.