Early days learning but hit a wall

What's Hot
I have been learning to play since early June. Lessons once a week since. I have never worried about progress really as in no rush. However, for the last 2 weeks with pretty much daily practice between 1 hr and 2 1/2 I just can't seem to Improve my basic chromatic scale. I nearly always bum the note, buzz the string or play very staccato. That's playing down from bottom E first 4 frets and then A first 4 frets etc. Coming back up again is worse. 
Is this common? Will I suddenly have a break through?
My teacher is great but I used to train people and know that you don't always get told you are defeated.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• droflufdrofluf Frets: 3610
    I'm a beginner too and have good and bad days; something that sounded great yesterday can be a mess today. Go and do something different or walk away from your guitar for a while. When you come back it will be there again :)
  • BranshenBranshen Frets: 1222
    That sounds about right. You just have to keep at it until the muscle memory kicks in. It will come. Don't give up!

If you are getting bum notes and string buzz, try to make sure you are fretting just behind the fretwire. It is alot easier to get clean notes that way. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Thanks both. I have been recording my progress on the ipad and all that has progressed is the number of swear words I can get in in two minutes of fumbling. It is good to know it is more common than I thought.
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • drpbierdrpbier Frets: 225