any advice how to start learning the bass ?

i have just got my first bass guitar yesterday after wanting a bass for a long time now (it's a squier affinity jazz bass in sunburst and it is lovely for the money i have to say).

obviously the main issue now is trying to start to learn to play it now.

although i have tried to learn guitar for a fair few years i am a terrible guitarist still and have issues with trying to learn music theory too (it just goes over my head tbh).

i would really love to be able to play the bass and be able to improvise and connect with the instrument (have never been able to do either with guitar if i am being honest).

i have always wished i could be a musician but never had  the ability (either technical or theory).

any advice would be most welcome.

ps forget about the years of trying to play guitar i seriously am a complete beginner i feel still.

i like cake :-) here's my youtube channel   https://www.youtube.com/user/racefaceec90 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• PetGerbilPetGerbil Frets: 175
    edited September 2019
    Think of a song you like. Type "(name of song.) chords" into google.
    Take the name of the chord and just find the Root note on one of the fattest two strings on your bass. eg. If the song goes Am,F,C,G Find those notes.( frets 5,1,8,3 on the bottom E string)

go, bum,bum,bum,bum.    on the A note (5th fret,bottom string).pick: down, up, down, up.))

then go, BUM,bum,bum,bum.   Still on the A note.(emphasize the first note)

then try BUM,bum,BUM,bum.   Still on the A. (emphasize the first and third note)

Then move on to the next note.(the F.(1st fret,bottom string))

As you work through the song, it should be A A A A, F F F F, C C C C, G G G G and repeat.