edrum GAS

What's Hot
Why is it that I never really suffered GAS when it came to the guitar but since buying a Roland TD1-DMK earlier this year I've already spent more than it cost on changing things to it, perhaps it's because the parts coming in the post are fairly small compared to a guitar.

Anyway I'm really enjoying drum lessons, wish I'd taken it up years ago.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Comments

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 12182
    I’m actually the other way around round. I’ve been drumming since January, got my own kit in May (Roland TDK17KVX), and haven’t thought about any other drum GAS since, beyond sticks. 

I love it though - seems to engage a different bit of brain than guitar.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 23169
    I'm also a guitarist who has converted to drumming.
    I hate e-kits with a passion.
    I have one- a Roland TD50K and everything about it sucks.

Most of my practice is done on a regular kit with mesh heads and low volume cymbals.
    I've said the reasons why loads of times so won't bore you again.

My drum GAS is mostly centred around snare drums and cymbals.

"And what would humans be without love?"
    “RARE, said Death.”

• neilgneilg Frets: 32
    octatonic said:
    I'm also a guitarist who has converted to drumming.
    I hate e-kits with a passion.
    I have one- a Roland TD50K and everything about it sucks.

Most of my practice is done on a regular kit with mesh heads and low volume cymbals.
    I've said the reasons why loads of times so won't bore you again.

My drum GAS is mostly centred around snare drums and cymbals.
    In my situation it would be a case of fitting a regular drum kit into the space I've got and not being able to fit myself in to play it or having the e-drum and really enjoying it.