Learning to ‘noodle’?

What's Hot
BRISTOL86BRISTOL86 Frets: 1920
edited October 2019 in Theory
Bit of a random thread but hopefully makes sense. I’ve been playing on and off for a few years now, have had a handful of lessons along the way, but ultimately had no real cohesion to what I’ve learned. 

A lot has been learned by doing, in a haphazard way, and while I’ve made decent progress in some areas, I’m really quite a beginner in others. I’ve done very little formal learning of scales / patterns etc.

One thing I’ve always been massively envious of are people who can just pick up a guitar and play something cohesive that sounds good musically. 

I can learn a phrase or a lick or a bit of a real song and play it to a reasonable standard (sometimes) but if you put a guitar in front of me and said ‘play something’ (that wasn’t a real world piece of a song I’ve learned) I’d not have a clue where to start. 

For this reason I hate going into guitar shops because I freeze up and can remember like 2 licks that I learned 3 years ago and haven’t played since lol 

I love watching things like Guitar Paradiso  where they just sit there playing very musically but probably with very little pre planning of exactly what they’re playing. I’m in awe of people that can just grab a guitar and start bashing out cool sounding stuff - so that’s ultimately where I want to get. 

I don’t want to be one of those people that just plays other people’s songs and that’s as good as it gets (not that there’s anything wrong with that) but that just feels like I’m learning to copy something and not actually learning to develop as a musician

Given that I’m a big fan of Mayer and the Hendrix/SRV kind of style, I’m guessing learning the minor pentatonic in all positions is going to be a good start, but any tips on actually taking that theory and translating it into reality is much appreciated. 

Any resources or learning materials you can point me towards will be great. 

Thanks!