Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Junior V Special

What's Hot
HootsmonHootsmon Frets: 15960
edited November 2019 in Guitar
You think there is a sonic difference at all due to only one pick up and cavity? 

Oh, is the pick up mounting on the Junior different too from the bridge pick up setting on the special?
tae be or not tae be
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• There are various theories about magnetic interference and (I believe) harmonic nodes... Plus folk talk about the single route allowing greater/uninterrupted resonance. 

I'm no expert, but I certainly believe that my Esquire sounds better than the same guitar did as a standard Tele. 

Regarding mountings- aren't Specials usually soapbar rather than Jr's Dog-ears? No idea whether this has an impact, but Dog ears LOOK cooler to me! 
  • tony99tony99 Frets: 7106
    the special is better, twice as good in fact, due to it having double the amount of pickupacitators
    Bollocks you don't know Bono !!
    3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Doug & Pat compared Jr to a Special in this video, the Jr sounded better to my ears. It's a long video so wind forward to see the comparison

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72304
    edited November 2019
    There are three major differences:

Special neck tenon routed through - on double-cuts, the difference on singles is only the very end of the tenon.
    Magnetic pull of the neck pickup on the Special
    Dogear vs soapbar pickup mounting