Emulated out / DI to Laptop and Audacity - Advice Please

AdeyAdey Frets: 2248
edited November 2019 in Amps
I'm new to trying to record myself, but thought it about time that I got familiar with the process...

I have a Laney IRT30 with DI and Emulated Outputs on the back.

Can I just plug into one of these outputs with a suitable cable, and then stick the other end into the USB input on my laptop? I have seen various cables available on Amazon and Ebay that have the 6.35mm jack on one end and a USB on the other....

I was going to record via Audacity software (I've looked at the vids and it looks fairly simple to use to begin with..... and it's free!).

I want to be able to set up a click track and then add in other tracks, whilst listening to the whole mix via headphones. My laptop doesn't have a separate mic and headphone jack though - they are combined, so can't easily use that to record and listen at the same time.

Any advice is very welcome....
:-)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• simonhpiemansimonhpieman Frets: 682
    edited November 2019
    You'll need an audio interface of some kind, regardless of cable, as you'll need to control the amount of signal going to audacity.

This will be a square box with jack/xlr/combi ports on the front. It should also have a gain control for each input, usually 2 on cheaper models.

The box then connects to your computer via usb.

I really like the Line6 UX2 as it comes with loads of fun guitar effects, amp sims and amazing sounding microphone pres if you decide later that you'd like to record vocals or mic up your amp, acoustic guitar etc. Bought my first one in 2005 and sold it for a reason I've long since forgotten. Picked a used one up last year for £30.

People also seem to like the focusrite saffires (I think that's the name?) as they apparently sound award-winning or sutin or nutin or idk.