swapping guitars - Good or bad for a beginner?

What's Hot
Hi all

This is a real 'Friday' question but I'll ask anyway.  I'm still new to this guitar playing malarkey but I have accumulated a few guitars already.  They are all dirt cheap look-alike models, one is SG shaped and two are Strat shaped with different string gauges on them.  I have mobility issues so I've sort of left them dotted around the house.  The SG is in the same room as the amp but if I'm in another room I can grab a Strat and just use it acoustically for a few minutes practice*.

Am I hindering my progress by constantly swapping between these guitars or does it not really matter? The necks are similar but not identical (I don't think anyway) and there is the different strings (only 9's or 10's but I do notice the difference) and the fact that the SG is just different to hold than the Strats.  

* Practice in this context really means mindless noodling, learning riffs from songs that I'm not supposed to be looking at.  Anything really but concentrating on what my tutor has set for the next lesson.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ftumchftumch Frets: 681
    Personally I think it's probably a good thing, you dont want to get so used to one particular guitar at this stage that playing anything else feels uncomfortable. Do you feel its hindering your progress? If not dont worry about it.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • JalapenoJalapeno Frets: 6386
    Potential danger of endless, recurring GAS, a sub-branch of actually playing (like talking about it on the internet ;) )
    Imagine something sharp and witty here ......

Feedback
  • Paul7926Paul7926 Frets: 227
    Jalapeno said:
    Potential danger of endless, recurring GAS, a sub-branch of actually playing (like talking about it on the internet ;) )
    If I had to be honest with myself......

Available time breakdown.....

Guitar forum browsing   40%