An appeal for help after a dog attack (warning: a bit graphic)

What's Hot
digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26453
edited December 2019 in Off Topic
I spotted this on a friend's Facebook feed last night, and I couldn't help but simultaneously feel awful and angry about it. An on-lead Chihuahua pup was attacked by a much larger-breed dog, off its leash and, obviously, was badly mauled. I got in touch with the owner about it, because I've got some first-hand knowledge about head/neck injuries in Chihuahuas.

Here's the owner's account of what happened...

At 6.30am on Friday 29th November my Chihuahua puppy Marty was brutally attacked. We were on our usual walk around the Millennial Parks on Gleadless Road when a dog that looked like a dark German Shepard ran towards us directly outside the Sheaf View pub. Marty was on the lead, the other dog was not. The owner chased after his dog presumably knowing what was about to unfold. The dog grabbed Marty by the head and shook him wildly. When the owner arrived I screamed at him to get his dog to stop, he was reluctant to get involved and incompetent at handling his dog. After some time the dog released its jaws from Marty’s head. I wrapped him in my arms and took him home and straight to the emergency vet.

The left side of Marty’s face is completely destroyed and he has has lost his eye.

Even worse, the vet bill has already exceeded the maximum allowed by their insurance company, and the poor little bugger's still got a long way to go.

So...here's our chance to spread a little Christmas cheer...or, at least, help a family and small pooch get through one of the worst times. They've started a JustGiving page in the hope of getting a bit of help with the treatment - if you were thinking about donating to the forum's upkeep in the next month or two, please put the money here instead:

Please help Marty the Chihuahua with his vet bills

<space for hire>
0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments