Flying V build

What's Hot
15 years ago I bought plans for a Flying V on eBay, thinking that I'd like to make a guitar. I opened them, panicked because I had no skills or tools, put them in a filing cabinet and forgot about them. Until this week. I now work as a furniture maker and have all the tools I need (at least the machinery), but am highly likely still lacking in the skills department. Like most people I will struggle to find time once we go back to work after the Christmas break, but I'm hoping I can still persevere and get it done. 

I don't intend to follow the plans precisely as I'm not fussed about it being a faithful '58 V replica, but we'll see. For instance I might go with P90s and a wrap around bridge. I started by making wooden templates from the printed plans. I'm going to remake the neck plans as I'm going to try and copy the neck from my '59 junior, which is lovely. 

Me finding the plans after 15 years!

Making the wooden templates:

0reaction image LOL 3reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• greggreg66greggreg66 Frets: 503
    edited January 2020
    I brought my Junior into workshop so I could pop the hood and have a look at the neck tenon to measure the total neck length ahead of planing up my neck blank:

Guard removed:

Close-up:

Cutting the scarfed headstock on the table saw:

This was cut at a 13.5° angle:

And gluing it up (after sanding the scarf joint faces flat / square). I also glue on an extra piece to build up the tenon:

Gluing up the body blank. I planed this to 38mm as stated on the plans. I measured the thickness of my junior, which was 45mm thick. I thought that I'd stick with the plans though. The neck & body are from sapele, mostly because I have lots of it in the workshop and this piece has been kicking around for a good 18 months: