First Build - DC Junior

What's Hot
PeteCPeteC Frets: 409
edited February 2020 in Making & Modding
Hi Folks, 

I thought I would try and detail (some of ) my first guitar build here on the forum - and hoping that it will be of interest. 
I am a complete guitar building novice, but have enjoyed woodwork all my life and have a reasonably good set up and power in my workshop (i.e. garden shed)
I've been playing guitar most of my life - from age 15 to 57 - and have been lucky enough to own a good selection of guitars which I have acquired along the way, as well as many I have owned and sold on.  My favs are a 94 PRS McCarty Goldtop, and a '76 Firebird. 

All through my time as an amateur musician I have been interested in electronics ( I took everything apart as a kid ! ) and have built many amps from scratch, including making the cabinets, chassis and electronics.  I eventually sold all my existing amps because I was able to build my own.   I built myself a home studio in what was my garage and most of the outboard gear I built myself, using the experience I had gained from making valve amps and effects pedals and the like.   

As far as DIY amps go, my "pride and joys" are my clone of a Park 1210 Rockhead (I owned and sold two of these fabulous amps), a 50watt Plexi copy, a 50watt Dumble ODS copy and a copy of a 50w Silver Jubilee combo I owned back in the 80s. 

A couple of years ago I started thinking it would be nice to have a few self made guitars to go with these DIY amps so that I owned the whole "signal chain". With the home studio being mainly self built outboard gear there would be something special about having the guitar, amp, effect, signal processing all done myself.  I even built a very high spec tube mic ( using Gyraf;s excellent plans ) and ribbon mics to record my guitars with. 

So now its about trying to fashion a decent guitar or two ( or more ) from scratch, myself.