Blew a speaker at our last jam

What's Hot
hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
Plexi 1987 combo with a G12-m Heritage/Anniversary whatever (the 20w one) and a gold. Obvoiusly an imbalance of power handling and I always intended getting an H to go with the M.

I am assuming its the M thats blown, (we are loud but not that loud)  i didn't get chance to check it over and I leave the combo at the studio, since my OTS is with @DJH83004 for a service.  I have a new Creamback M thats waiting for a job so I am thinking to get a Creamback H to go with it. Anyone care to talk me out of that plan? Not that fussed about the Gold TBH so that'll end up back in its box.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72250
    You've almost certainly blown the G12M - a 20W speaker in a pair driven by a 50W amp is not a good idea regardless of the other speaker. The power rating of the cab is twice that of the lower-rated speaker, not the sum of the two.

Creamback G12M-65 & G12H-75 is a great combination - very like a G12M-25 and a G12H-30, but slightly tighter and darker, and obviously with a lot higher power handling - 130W, so completely safe with a 50W amp.

I think @rockmonster may have a G12H-75 for sale...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    ICBM said:
    You've almost certainly blown the G12M - a 20W speaker in a pair driven by a 50W amp is not a good idea regardless of the other speaker. The power rating of the cab is twice that of the lower-rated speaker, not the sum of the two.