What do you think you would do if...

What's Hot
Emp_FabEmp_Fab Frets: 17698
edited February 12 in Off Topic
...you’re walking along the road and come across an old man laying in the recovery position, apparently unconscious, with three people crouched around him.  They are calling his name in an attempt to rouse him but are getting no response.  One of them then says “It’s ok - he’s breathing”.  There are lots of people around in the street.  What would you would do - if anything, in this scenario?

Be honest.
Everybody was kung-flu fighting...
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Comments

• TenebrousTenebrous Frets: 923
    Walk away. I've no medical knowledge to help him more than those currently attending to him, I'd presume an ambulance has been called, and I'd want to get out of the way of any potential support coming.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 7reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 16744
    1 - Make sure at least one of them's sober
    2 - Ask if they need any help
    3 - Ask if any of them have any medical training, and how long the ambulance will be
    4 - Depending on the time of day and location, see if I can get the various bystanders to try to locate a doctor/nurse/paramedic in a nearby shop/pub/doctor's surgery/etc. It's better than standing around gawping.

Obviously, some of these things depend on the others.
    During the Covid19 period, we're running a "phone a friend" facility.  Just to hear a voice, keep in touch, etc. , using "JitSi".

There's a Jitsi iOS/Android App, or you can just connect from a browser.

https://meet.jit.si/theFretBoard  |    pw: theFB  |    0121 468 3154  |  1000 and 2000 daily.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 9reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • I’d do a Dionne Warwick