Passive PA speaker fault - no sound - any help gratefully received.

What's Hot
Hello all. I have just bought some pa gear and in the advert was stated that one of the speakers was blown. It is SubZero kit from Gear4Music. Basically this (plus some other bits n pieces).

https://www.gear4music.com/PA-DJ-and-Lighting/SubZero-SZPA-410-175W-10-PA-System-With-Digital-Media-Player/1O34

I have no knowledge whatever of why a passive pa speaker may become 'blown' nor what may be involved in diagnosing the fault and fixing it.

Any help / advice / suggestions gratefully received.

Thanks.

:)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10402
    Put a meter on the terminals of the speaker, should measure below the stated impedance so an 8 Ohm speaker will measure roughly 5.8 ohm's or so .... if thats good check wires to crossover  ... if no reading (open circuit) then speaker coil is blown

On crossover look for protection fuses ... these are often 24V bulbs used as current limiters. If these are open circuit replace with similar 
    Also look for blown ceramic resistors .... normally these are large and coated with white fire proof ceramic coating 

Check wires from cross over to input connector 
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
  • close2uclose2u Frets: 997
    @Danny1969 ;
    Many thanks for a quick and detailed response.
    Sadly - it is as I feared it might be ... I honestly don't have much idea what that technical talk means and I don't have the basic equipment to test anything. Oh boy.
    I can see for someone that has a few basic tools and kit such work may be common place.
    Given that I don't, I'm wondering if:
    a] would it be worth spending money on a repair given that they are modest price items in the first place?
    b] are they saleable as a pair when one doesn't work?