Unspeakable Players at a Jam night

What's Hot
DcotorstewieDcotorstewie Frets: 35
edited February 2020 in Live
Morning all. 
I run a jam/open mic night at a pub near Manchester. It's a quite trad type pub, in that it's full of middle aged piss artists and their familes, (Over 18s only though ) and anyone who looks too hipster takes one look and sods off elsewhere for their beer that has bits in it. I actually love the place, and it's great therapy, because I am mental, though it is VERY draining, mentally and physically. 
Anyway, we have a couple of regulars who are...shall we say wanting in the musicality / ability / possibly knowing their own names department. The night is extremely casual, we don't care really how bad you are, but it's always utterly wonderful when someone turns up and is brilliant - it does happen. ( I mean, I am not a natural singer or guitarist, I am a drummer, but I front the thing because I am a decent frontman and like playing to an audience ) We have a full backline and spare instruments available for punters to use, as well as a huge selection of lyrics, chords and dots for a LOT of popular tunes. Think live karaoke. 
So, last night it being a very quiet one, we started with the usual opening tunes, and decided to keep it quiet with Springsteen's The River. During which, a chap pops over looks at the drum kit, and sits down behind it. "Ace, the night's first guest player, I think." 
Oh gods..oh dear, dear gods. he can't play. Literally, cannot play. he sort of hits the drums in a vague and seemingly almost random attempt to "follow" the melody. and plays the cowbell. Presumably because it's there.  You know the sort of thing, when you get  a kid playing a toy drum.