Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• BlackdreamBlackdream Frets: 17
    edited March 2020
    This is a great forum full of advice and recipes https://www.jimsbeerkit.co.uk/
    All grain brewing is the way to go. Initial equipment costs are higher than kits, but the ingredients for a 5 gal brew will work out cheaper than buying a kit. All grain also tastes much nicer and you’re not limited by which kits are available - you can brew whatever style you want

As stated above Graham Wheeler’s book is an excellent introduction. Don’t be worried about complexity - if you can follow a basic recipe you can brew beer!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • KittyfriskKittyfrisk Frets: 18718
    Stick to beer :+1:  
    Friend of mine made his elderflower sparkling wine as usual last year.
    Overdid the sugar slightly & the champagne bottles started to explode in the house, splattering tiny glass shards eveywhere.
    He ended up having to wear full motorcycle gear, to gently transfer the bottles to a safe part of the garden where they could be isolated in a shed. 
    Most of the remaining bottles exploded over the summer, shredding holes in the cloth covering the plastic barrel they were stored in.
    This was not a wine for drinking, this was a wine for laying down & avoiding...
    6reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    I did elderflower sparkling wine a few years ago and a couple of the grolsch bottles I used suffered the same fate.

What survived was very drinkable though.  I might try it again this year.
  • KittyfriskKittyfrisk Frets: 18718
    RedRabbit said:
    I did elderflower sparkling wine a few years ago and a couple of the grolsch bottles I used suffered the same fate.

What survived was very drinkable though.  I might try it again this year.
    Bet you wish you'd saved the Grolsch bottles now that they're no longer available, Sigh...