Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• AndyDAndyD Frets: 2
    This for me too - 100%
    RedRabbit said:

I went straight from kits to all grain - the difference is pretty much night and day.  The homebrew "twang" is gone and I have a lot more flexibility over what I can brew.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    RedRabbit said:
    I've done a couple of Woodforde kits, and although it was drinkable, it still had that 'homebrew' taste which is very hard to describe. I'm reading about making beer with powdered extract now, and then maybe I'll go full grain. Is there are big difference in taste going from the canned extract to powder?
    I've never used the dried extract so can't say how much of an improvement you'll get.  There does seem to be a lot of speculation that the homebrew taste comes from the liquid malt, especially in kits where it might not be that fresh.

I went straight from kits to all grain - the difference is pretty much night and day.  The homebrew "twang" is gone and I have a lot more flexibility over what I can brew.

What size batches would you be wanting to make?  You won't need a lot more equipment to do all grain with a boil in the bag method than you'll need for dried malt.  As long as you've got a pot big enough to hold the mash then all you'd need extra is the bag.
    Well I did the same kit twice and it tasted identical both times, so i'm guessing it's just the way it is. I'm keen on going to all grain as I don't really need to do gallons of it. I'll have a look at the equipment needed, but I think I'm just going to go for it as it seems to be pretty universal that it tastes much better that way.