Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot

Comments

• RedRabbitRedRabbit Frets: 486
    Today's brew day!

A nice, simple IPA using admiral and archer hops.  Going to be my first time dry hopping.  Hop bill still only comes in at 150g though!

Chiller coil will get it's first outing today as well.

Was going to use the kveik but I'm going away for a few days next week so I'll leave that one until I'm at home to keep an eye on it.  Just going to throw some dried yeast in this one.

Also need to get my last brew into a pressure barrel and harvest the yeast from the fermenter.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    Brew done.  Just waiting for it to cool before I can pitch the yeast.

Chiller coil hasn't been used due to losing one of the hose connectors.  Going to let it cool to around 50°c in the boil kettle and then transfer it to the fermentation bucket.

Only realised a connector was missing after I started rehydrating the yeast.  I'm sure it'd be fine left alone but I'm going to turn it into a small starter just to make sure the yeast is still active in the morning.

Also cracked open a bottle of stout I bottles last week.  Needs a little longer in the bottle but it's showing promise.  I'll add some oats and barley next time but it's still definitely a stout, just a bit more hippy than you'd expect.
  • duotoneduotone Frets: 982
    Brought a couple bottles of the Mosaic IPA upto a mates house yesterday & they really enjoyed it. Comments like “I’d be happy with that if I’d ordered it in a pub!” Am happy with that for a 1st attempt.

Roll onto trying that Hoegaarden brew in the next couple weeks. Think I will get another Demi-John and do a 10 Litre brew this time.

• hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    duotone said:
    Brought a couple bottles of the Mosaic IPA upto a mates house yesterday & they really enjoyed it. Comments like “I’d be happy with that if I’d ordered it in a pub!” Am happy with that for a 1st attempt.