Acoustic Archtop guitars - what to look out for, what to avoid?

What's Hot
TimmyOTimmyO Frets: 7392
I have a generalised hankering for an acoustic archtop (no need for electric leanings) 

Any pointers for things to look out for (used is good, but not essential) ? Any things to avoid? 

Where should I start, beyond typing “acoustic archtop” into eBay? 
Red ones are better. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Andy79Andy79 Frets: 888
    Big old Jazz box? Smaller body?
    I’m no expert but I like the old smaller body carved top Gibsons, L-30 L-37 etc. Gibsons other brand stuff generally had pressed tops which differ in tone a surprising amount 

I also like the modern Epiphone Masterbilt series. Especially the round-hole, it reminds me of the old Kay Deluxe which almost sounds banjo-like. I have a particular bent towards county blues which these guitars are more suited to These guitars differ greatly from big and/or higher end jazz guitars which I know little about.

Theres bracing to consider. Parallel vs X. 

I know nothing about high end stuff
  • LewyLewy Frets: 4169
    Is there a sound in your head that's appealing, Tim? My personal experience is of owning a couple (a Godin 5th Ave and a '30s Kalamazoo) and just thinking "I ought to like this but....I just don't get it". But that's because I was starting from the point of view of just fancying an archtop as opposed to chasing a clear sound.
  • TimmyOTimmyO Frets: 7392
    Lewy said:
    Is there a sound in your head that's appealing, Tim? My personal experience is of owning a couple (a Godin 5th Ave and a '30s Kalamazoo) and just thinking "I ought to like this but....I just don't get it". But that's because I was starting from the point of view of just fancying an archtop as opposed to chasing a clear sound.
    In terms of a specific sound I’d like it to look cool :-)