Comments

• idiotwindidiotwind Frets: 448
    edited April 2020
    Duplicate post
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • KeefyKeefy Frets: 2285
    idiotwind said:
    Keefy said:
    Having been alerted to it in another thread, I fancy building a Multiplex Echo Machine. 1776 Effects supply the PCB but they are closed until the Zombie Apocalypse dies down. Ah well, that will have to wait for another day...
    I've been planning to do one of these as well, though $13.30 shipping on a $15 PCB was holding me back a bit.  I have found a vero layout for it here: http://guitar-fx-layouts.42897.x6.nabble.com/1776-Multiplex-with-charge-discharge-trimmers-td29819.html
    Considering I've never used vero before, it's a bit daunting though.  ...
    Hmm... think I’ll wait for the PCB!

In other news I was able to install the input socket on my Big Muff Pi build today. Plugging in between Strat and amp, my first thought was: this sounds like a cheap distortion pedal. I quickly worked out that you need the sustain up to about 3 o’clock (at least with a Strat), the tone control makes a big difference, and it’s all about context. On its own it sounds, well, a bit shit, but when I tried playing along with Pink Floyd’s Animals, there’s the sound! You have to dig into the guitar quite a bit, you can’t just play a note and let the pedal make it sustain, it’s not as gainy as you might expect.

I also tried it with my Tele Deluxe, which is a much easier ride.

I’m currently sat listening to Animals (to be followed by Gilmour’s eponymous solo album from the preceding year) and you can hear how DG works the pedal.

• robertyroberty Frets: 10893
    edited April 2020
    Keefy said:
    idiotwind said:
    Keefy said:
    Having been alerted to it in another thread, I fancy building a Multiplex Echo Machine. 1776 Effects supply the PCB but they are closed until the Zombie Apocalypse dies down. Ah well, that will have to wait for another day...