Cab simulators with headphones

What's Hot
semsem Frets: 2
Hello! I'm very new to playing with amplifiers, so please be easy on me lol. I live with my family but I will be going to Uni next year and I'll be staying in accommodations, so I really need to be able to play through headphones (especially as I often play with high gain rhythm tones, and I really don't want to be That Guy). I recently got a Boss Katana, but I've found all the tones I've settled on sound completely different when played through headphones, compared to through the speaker - as in, they sound awful. I thought maybe it was down to it being direct from the amp to my headphones, so maybe a cab simulator with a headphone jack (Like the Two Tones Torpedo CAB M) would help me.

So my main question is - Am I at all right? Is a cab simulator what I need? As I said, I know very little past actually playing the guitar, so I could be very mistaken.

Leading on from that, if I'm wrong, do you have any suggestions to help improve the tone when playing through headphones?

If I'm right, do you have any gear suggestions? The Two Tones Torpedo CAB M looks amazing but it's a bit pricey, are there good value for money alternatives?

Thanks in advance!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• sgosdensgosden Frets: 1993
    How are you connecting the headphones to the amp at the moment ?
  • WolfetoneWolfetone Frets: 1479
    A HX Stomp will fit the bill perfectly. It will also be useful when playing through your clean Katana later on and won't be rendered redundant when you go back home.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • MrBumpMrBump Frets: 1244
    Buy a 100 watt valve Marshall.

Go to Uni.

Be that guy.  Own it.

Welcome to the forum.
    Mark de Manbey

Trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/72424/
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 6reaction image Wisdom
  • semsem Frets: 2
    sgosden said: