Using MV amp like NMV?

What's Hot
billandobillando Frets: 26
Whats the thoughts on keeping the master volume on 10 and using the preamp for volume just like a non master amp? Does this work or are they just not designed for that and sound terrible?

Got thinking of this yesterday watching a video of paul weller playing changing man. I believe he used a marshall 2100 lead and bass 50w combo which is a non master volume amp. I have a marshall 2104 50w master volume from same era....would this work?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• mark_jwedgemark_jwedge Frets: 318
    I am having a play with using my amp like this at the moment. I have a Top Hat Emplexador 50 which is a 68 Marshall plexi with a master volume and a few switches to toggle various bright cap options. 

I haven’t got the master fully up but it’s wound round to 3 o’clock. There is a little more background noise but nothing that is intrusive at home and makes no difference live. 

The clean sound is glorious but the seemingly infinite headroom and dynamic range do mean that your playing technique needs to be pretty tight but live it’s great to be able to sit back or make certain licks/phrases pop out just by how hard you pick. 

Along those lines it took me a long time to balance the volumes of all my pedals when running the amp this way but I think I have it now.

Overall the clarity, punch and dynamics when playing live is fantastic. It’s much less forgiving to play but I think the trade off is worth it.

I’m enjoying it and will keep going with it for now at least.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72246
    The 2104 with the MV on 10 and using the Low input is not *that* far away from a NMV Marshall, but it's still not exactly the same - it has slightly less gain and a bit thinner a tone in my opinion. The High input is significantly different as it has one extra gain stage.