Advice please... Sharp fret ends

What's Hot
Evening all. I want to pick your brains: I bought a cheap bass this week, just for recording at home - I've been recording bass parts with a pitch shifted guitar but it doesn't really sound great. I got one of these:

https://www.gear4music.com/Guitar-and-Bass/RedSub-Infinity-Fan-Fret-Multi-Scale-Bass-Guitar-Gloss-Black/2C6U

They had a nearly new one for £150 so I got that. It arrived today and in nearly all ways in really pleased with it: it's light, it's got a really nice neck, it sounds good and the extra scale length means that it handles drop C tuning nicely.

Only problem is that it has some sharp fret ends, especially on the treble side of the neck.

So bearing in mind that I've never done anything remotely like it before, should I buy a fret file & try to sort it myself, or should I just send it back & get a brand new one for an extra £50?
Too much gain... is just about enough \m/

I'm probably the only member of this forum mentioned by name in Whiskey in the Jar ;)

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FelineGuitarsFelineGuitars Frets: 11570
    tFB Trader
    Use a smooth cut file (#2 or #4 cut) or use something makeshift like a stick of MDF with some abrasive paper wrapped around it.
    or your local chemist/branch of boots (or girlfriend's beauty bag ) may contain a nail filing block like this 

They come in a variety of grits and are damn useful.
    My ex was a beauty therapist and visiting her wholesale beauty store was a goldmine of things I could adapt to workshop use

Many guitars have a re-sale value. Some you'll never want to sell.
    Stockist of: Earvana & Graphtech nuts, Faber Tonepros & Gotoh hardware, Fatcat bridges. Highwood Saddles.

Pickups from BKP, Oil City & Monty's pickups.

Expert guitar repairs and upgrades - fretwork our speciality! www.felineguitars.com.  Facebook too!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom