Recommend me a cartridge for my Rega Planar 3 turntable

What's Hot
beed84beed84 Frets: 2403
I've been enjoying my RP3 for a few months now and I'm convinced vinyl is the way to go.  However, when it comes to the technicalities, I'm a complete noob.  I've heard about how cartridges play an important part in the overall sound so I thought I'd look into making an upgrade. Problem is I don't know where to start.  Also, I have no idea what the current cartridge is.  All I can say is that it's grey and has no brand marking. Sounds fine nevertheless.

I'm running it through a NAD 3020e amp and Mordaunt Short MS5 speakers (nowt special but aren't bad).  My budget is £50ish or so quid. Bearing all that in mind, has anyone got any ideas?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Axe_meisterAxe_meister Frets: 4612
    Is your current cartridge moving magnet or moving coil?
    If you can replace the stylus then it's probably moving magnet.

Anything by Shure is good (but some big prices)
    also pick a budget in Audio Technica line some good stuff there, even the cheap green one
    aint half bad. I use one on my Linn LP12 
  • stevenewstevenew Frets: 38
    Nagaoka MP110 about £80, I have just put one on my Planer 3. I have been using Denon DL110 Moving Coil cartridges for the past few years but as they cost about £150 now they have got out of my price range. The Nagaoka is performing superbly, and imo sounds as good as the Denon, a different type of sound but just as good. I have it tracking at about 1.8g.

• RobDaviesRobDavies Frets: 3062
    Goldring 2100 is very highly rated. That's my next purchase... Currently using the aforementioned AT 95e (the green one) and it's not bad.... But not blowing me away....
  • vizviz Frets: 10647
    edited June 2014