Piano is hard

What's Hot

Comments

• pintspillerpintspiller Frets: 994
    Piano is hard and so is my dad. He could beat up your dad. Easy.
    2reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Benm39Benm39 Frets: 696
    An interesting thread! Like @thecolourbox I've been a long time piano student. I taught myself a little bit of guitar over the years but being so used to piano there are things I find really difficult about the guitar... not least that the same pitch note might appear in 6 places on the fretboard hehe... on a piano middle c is middle c, ain't but the one of them,  so learning to visualise scales in boxes and different positions is quite alien,  even coming from playing scales in thirds or sixths... it's just a question of what you're used to I suppose but it's also amazing just what you can get your head and hands around with some regular practice and taking time to do things slowly. Enjoy the journey as much as the destinations etc. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • What I'm struggling with is the two hands thing. Not so much playing different things, but playing them at different times. There's a piece I can play with my right hand, and my left hand, and I can just about play the two lines at the same time - but only if I ignore the timing. It's designed to improve my understanding of syncopation, but I'm really struggling to time it right.

Having said all of that, I can't help feeling that more practice time would make a huge difference... 
    If you must have sex with a frog, wear a condom. If you want the frog to have fun, rib it.
  • thegummythegummy Frets: 4389
    The actual physicality is just as hard to learn as when one first lessens guitar.