Bass amp (head) for small to medium gigs?

What's Hot
Creed_ClicksCreed_Clicks Frets: 1387
edited May 2020 in Bass
Hi all, as per other threads, my preamp for home is sorted, so looking ahead to a gigging amp. My live bass experience in the past was with borrowed amps, always solid state. Torque, Peavey, Ashdown combos, and I borrowed a Mark Bass head once which was the best out of the lot. I remember it was heavy for such a small head.

Anyhow, as a guitarist, I found a 15 to 30 watt tube amp was always plenty for the gigs I used to do, so using that as a reference point for bass. (The odd time, if the drumming got really loud, the amp might have struggled on a 15 w tube setting). Currently use a 50w solid state Quilter into a 1x10 and it's more than loud enough for any gigs I've done with it.

Going to stick to solid state, and I am thinking head, because depending on the gig, I could have a small cab or a larger cab.
I was looking at some hybrid heads too, but no idea if this could be a road to go down.

I had been thinking of the Trace Elliot Elf, but 200 watts might not be enough? The Mark Bass III could be an option too, but interested to hear advice. The days of lugging heavy sh*t around is gone too. I'd probably use a boost or overdrive (like the nano battalion) with the pedal and reverb if it needed it.

Ampeg Portaflex 350? Hybrid etc?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24579
    Hi all, as per other threads, my preamp for home is sorted, so looking ahead to a gigging amp. My live bass experience in the past was with borrowed amps, always solid state. Torque, Peavey, Ashdown combos, and I borrowed a Mark Bass head once which was the best out of the lot. I remember it was heavy for such a small head.