Recommended Luthiers & Techs

What's Hot

Comments

• I would really encourage people to learn how to setup their own guitars, to be honest it is not amazingly difficult and you can buy most of the stuff you need to do it for the cost of 1 pro setup.

Obviously thing like re-frets and repairs are a different kettle of fish.
    Old Is Gold
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • MazzaGMazzaG Frets: 82
    edited April 2014
    Seeing as I'm a novice with a soldering iron I'd prefer to get my guitar rewired by a pro, however i have been quoted £75 which seems a bit steep to me? This would include all new components as well(pots, switch etc). The general price I keep reading is about £50...

I would do it myself but it's really not something I'd feel comfortable doing, I took one look at a Strat wiring diagram and nearly vomited.

I'm in the Cheshunt (Herts) and North London area.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • GuitarMonkeyGuitarMonkey Frets: 1883
    Best quality parts will cost £35. A strat needs the strings off and refitted etc. I don't think that £75 is too bad a price.
  • BlueingreenBlueingreen Frets: 2592
    Has anyone used Rod Vaughan (Edinburgh) for a re-fret?  Happy with the work?
    “To a man with a hammer every problem looks like a nail.”
  • JeztoneJeztone Frets: 27
    edited April 2014
    Another +1 for Feline in Croydon & also when I lived in the East Mids Northworthy in Ashbourne Derbyshire. There a bit out of the way, but they did a respray on my old Ibanez & a Fret Dress on my Yamaha SG1300t back in the day. Very reasonable prices & were dead helpful. Their acoustic guitars are beautiful too.
  • Anyone recommend a luthier in south wales
  • geepers0677geepers0677 Frets: 119
    Recommendation for Ray Brett in East Northants.

• bennyg85bennyg85 Frets: 64
    Has anyone used Darren Hampton at Wymondham, near Norwich?

Ben
  • big thumbs up for Dave Dearnaley Cardiff.