Syncing clock from Arturia drumbrute impact and microfreak with Ditto x4

Any synth and looper users I’d appreciate your help! I am very new to this world but have recently got a drumbrute impact and a microfreak. I’m currently using the drumbrute as the master and have used the clock out to sync the microfreak without issue. 

I have now tried to connect my ditto 4x to the microfreak - my plan is to layer loops from the microfreak - so a baseline then change patch and add a chord line on top. I currently can’t get it synced though so am reliant to exact timing which is tricky.

I have taken the clock out of the microfreak and into the midi in on the ditto and it’s doesn’t seen to do anything, I tried the midi out as well (from the microfreak) as well but again no use...

Any ideas how/if I can get this working and what I am doing wrong?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• jackiojackio Frets: 132
    I'm not expert, but don't you need MIDI thru from the micro freak?
    Best you've got until someone proper turns up...worth a try though.
  • clarke_111clarke_111 Frets: 58
    Aha, could well be, I assumed the clock ‘out’ from the microfreak was the same as ‘thru’ but I suppose it may well not be at all...?? 

In which case I’ll have a look at the manual for that and see. Can’t find anything useful on the ditto manual online so will try that instead! 
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33793
    edited June 2020
    Clock out on the Microfreak is CV clock, not midi.
    You use it for synchronising modular synthesisers to the Microfreak's internal clock.

Page 97 in the manual- it says the following:

It's possible to use the MicroFreak as a MIDI-to-CV converter; you can send note data from MIDI tracks on your DAW to the MicroFreak MIDI In. When the MIDI channels match, and the Utility>Midi>Thru is set to On, the incoming MIDI information will appear in CV format at the CV ports.

There are two things to keep in mind, though: