Electro Classical.... recommend me something please

Once upon a time I was almost exclusively a classical guitarist....it was what I studied at uni (although my degree wasn't performance so I'm hardly Julian Bream!)

Fast forward to now.... I'd like a classical again, both to keep my classical standard up a bit, and also as it could be a potentially useful thing to have once we start back gigging again...my wedding band offers an acoustic trio option.

So.....a nylon string guitar with a proper classical neck, electric....ideally a cutaway too. Budget is about £500 I guess. I very rarely buy new, but open to anything really. I've looked at the Yamaha stuff....I'm thinking the NCX rather than NTX range. I'm confused by all of the model numbers of that series though! 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Toms_DadToms_Dad Frets: 168
    In the Yamaha range the NCX 700 and 900 have solid tops and laminate back and sides. NCX1200 up is all solid. I have not played them, but I understand they have a reputation for being better sounding plugged in than acoustically.
    You might also consider La Patrie which seem really well made, and have a standard classical nut width. They are one of the Godin family of brands.
    Finally what about secondhand? Much more value for money here as they don’t seem to hold their value anywhere near as well as steel strung acoustics.
  • Yeah I mentioned in my OP that I rarely buy new....well up for secondhand....I know very little about what to look for though! Cheers for the info above though.... I'll have a gander at La Pattie
  • GTCGTC Frets: 261
    Would also recommend La Patrie - and there are usually some second-hand bargains around.