PRS Santana SE ll

sammysabersammysaber Frets: 706
edited July 2020 in Guitar Reviews

Hi folks,

First post here though have been a long time lurker and just to give a quick bio I'm now in the 50's club - first started playing around 15 in the mid 80's and have been playing on and off since (work, more work, wife, etc.).

Between then and now have gone through quite a lot of guitars such as Ibanez Roadstar, Ibanez  Destroyer, PRS CE, Les Paul Studios, Alex Lifeson Axcess, Japanese Les Pauls, Charvel Fusion Custom, Peavey USA Wolfgangs, Gibson V, 60's Gibson SG,  Antoria Strat, Pacifica, G&L US Tele, various Fender & Squier Strats, Kramer Barettas, and a few others.

Despite all the above guitars, needless to say I am still a crap guitarist.

So we went to lock down and realised I had some time to play and learn some music, and as my only remaining electric at the time was stored at my mom's which required social distancing procedures, decided to pick up a cheap electric. I saw a PRS SE Santana on ebay in good condition and bid just over £200 and here we are a month or two later.

I bid on it because it was a classy looking understated PRS SE rather than me being a Santana fanboy, which is just as well as to my eye it looks nothing like the guitars that I'd seen Santana actually play. 

It is actually an SE ll, which is very similiar to the original SE with some very small changes such as neck binding, a pick guard, open coil pick ups, and a bit of contouring. This guitar was advertised as an SE, and I only found out it was an SE ll when doing some research to write this review.