Buying an amp from the US

What's Hot
designerseye88designerseye88 Frets: 987
HI, 

I'm potentially going to purchase an amp from the US. I'm a bit of amateur when it comes to the actual basics of amps so wondered what i would need to be able to use it over here in the UK. 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• If it's 110v you just need a good quality step down Transformer.   I have a few 60''s fender amps that i use all the time, with a step down transformer.       Or if it's 110v you cab swap the power transformer for a 240v one.  But that's your choice.
  • fretmeisterfretmeister Frets: 23968
    And you'll need to assume you'll be paying import duty of about 4%, and VAT at 20% on the item AND on the shipping cost.
    And the handling fee.

So whatever the price is, make sure you allow for another 25% or so when deciding whether it's worth the hassle.

Be aware that some makes don't like to make it easy to get spare parts from the grey import market.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • phil_bphil_b Frets: 2010
    personally I would not buy a large item from the US if there is a problem and you need to send it back you can loose a lot of money in shipping costs. As fretmaster pointed out add 25% to the total for taxes and charges. It is rarely worth buying from the US unless you really can buy it from anywhere else and even then expect to pay a premium

• HattigolHattigol Frets: 8176
    What's the amp? And is there seriously not an equivalent that you can buy in this country?

Delivery costs will be mental and personally, I would expect it to be broken upon arrival.
    "Anybody can play. The note is only 20%. The attitude of the motherf*cker who plays it is  80%" - Miles Davis
  • RaymondLinRaymondLin Frets: 11814
    I wouldn't personally.  The power would be a problem, especially if you want to sell it on, then there is the cost on top.  Expect 25-30% for tax and duty when it lands.