Gutted a guitar - bridge pickup not working

What's Hot
GordonBennettGordonBennett Frets: 16
edited July 2020 in Making & Modding
I've been playing guitar on and off for 25 years. For the past few years I've just played an old classical guitar but I decided to get back into the electric and actually learn a few songs. I had an old 70s/80s Japanese Strat copy in the loft... completely uncared for and in a right state. I've never done any guitar work whatsoever but decided I'd like to replace everything on it for a bit of fun, and to learn about how it works and so on. Everything on it was working perfectly fine but the hardware was rusty and even the pickups were rusty.

So - I've gutted the whole thing, replaced the bridge, tuners, nut, output jack, pick guard, pots and pickups.

Once I'd completed the soldering I plugged in and tested the pickups and switch. To my absolute sheer amazement the neck pickup worked fine! And the middle pickup too! Fantastic - my heart soared. I flipped to the bridge pickup expecting it to be a formality and.... nothing... sigh... I knew it was too good to be true. There's a faint hum which increases in volume as I turn the volume pot up but that's all.

I should mention I haven't strung the guitar yet - I was just testing by tapping a screwdriver on the pickups.

Here's the wiring plan I followed:

The new wiring:
https://ibb.co/tXYpDNb

The old wiring (minus the capacitor which I nicked)
https://ibb.co/DWBS9BL

Sorry for the dogs dinner of the new wiring setup.

Also the new plan looks different to the original?

Well any help you can give would be greatly appreciated. I've read about wiring the pickup straight to the output jack to test whether its working - good idea? The guy I purchased the pickups from said it's like one of the pots?

Any help is greatly appreciated. :) 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7027
    tFB Trader