Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Learning to improvise by ear, rather than with scales.

What's Hot
Hello there.

I have been playing for many years and, whenever I improvise, I always seem to do the same thing:

1. Look at the backing track and try to find a scale that will fit perfectly over everything.

2. Play that scale, trying to hit chord tones wherever possible.

By my own admission, things just sound boring and samey.

I have spent lots of time (especially during Lockdown) looking at various youtube videos that recommend playing by ear - i.e. playing a melody in your head and then putting that down on your guitar.

This was a bit of a revelation to me as I had no idea that this was what the best guitarists were actually doing.

The freedom to play what you want, without having to consciously try and remember scale shapes would make be amazing.

The trick, however, is what to do/practice to get to this point.

I have been doing ear training, every evening, to learn the sound of all the intervals.

However, I feel that I need to be doing something with my guitar, so that I can just play any melody (as if I were singing it).

Any tips on what to start doing would be much appreciated.

Thanks.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33783
    edited August 2020
    Hello there.

I have been playing for many years and, whenever I improvise, I always seem to do the same thing:

1. Look at the backing track and try to find a scale that will fit perfectly over everything.

2. Play that scale, trying to hit chord tones wherever possible.

That is is the simplest form of playing the changes- it is a necessary step but not a final destination.
    Look into something called Pitch Axis Theory.