Learning to target chord tones.

What's Hot
I would be really grateful for some insight as to how other players target chord tones.

This is something that I have only recently been trying to actively do, in an attempt to make my improvisation sound a bit more musical.

I have my own system of doing this but would be grateful for some advice on whether this is a good/bad way of looking at things.

1. I have learnt the major scale in all the CAGED shapes ( I know that there are lots of people that prefer the "3 notes per string" technique but I find CAGED, as a beginner I find CAGED more manageable).

2. For each shape, I have learnt the intervals - for example, if I am in the "C" shape, I can pick out all of the seven sets of intervals.

3. I pick a random backing track - e.g. Am, C, Em, G.

4. I work out that this is all part of the C major scale, thus this is a vi, I, ii, V progression.

5. Over each chord, I try and target the chord position, plus 2 up, plus 2 up - e.g. over the vi chord, I play 6 intervals, plus root intervals, plus 3 intervals.

Is this a good way of looking at things?

The alternative would be to think - this chord is Am, this is made of notes A C E, I need to target these at the moment.  

Any views/tips would be much appreciated.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BradBrad Frets: 658
    For me, learning how to properly target chord tones meant ONLY using chord tones/arpeggios for quite some time. 

I had to reduce the amount of information available to me, so I kind of did away with scales for a while and only used triads within one octave, until I got to the point where the arps (and their inversions) jumped out at me more readily. 

It is really hard trying to make music this way, but the most important thing for me is that the chord tones were really apparent when I was then thinking more in terms of scales or adding other tones to the triads.