MIM Jazz Bass Query (buying used, some advice)

What's Hot
Creed_ClicksCreed_Clicks Frets: 1387
edited August 2020 in Bass
Hi all, looking to do a bit of a clear out this year and might finally stop faffing around, bite the bullet, and look at getting a MIM Jazz Bass. Why MIM? Well, I'm primarily a guitarist, so thought I'd aim for the middle ground, and Fender models seem to be handy enough in terms of any upgrades. I might put an Oil City Overkill in the bridge, and pair it with something else in the neck position.
MIMs seem to get decent enough reviews, and any MIM Fender instruments I have played seemed to be decent enough quality for me.

I don't want to go for a PJ option.

I know there are probably a shed load of other options you would suggest I go for, (like G&L, Sire, etc) but I'm not sure if all J Basses have standard pickup sizes hence the safe option with a Fender.

I wouldn't be too knowledgeable to decide whether to go for a 60s or 70s model.

Are MIMs based on 60s or 70s out of curiosity? Are they heavy? (not a big fan of heavy heavy instruments!)

I have read about so many variations of the Squier models, I thought I'd just stick with the standard MIM J bass...

Though I do like the look of this, could anyone confirm if the pickups would be standard size? I would guess so? (Intention would be to replace...)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b6aQIWnutNU&t=389s

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• 4string4string Frets: 33
    tFB Trader
    @Creed_Clicks if you fancy the Overkill in the bridge, let's talk about what we can do for the neck as well. :-) 
    Chief Bottle Washer @ Oil City Pickups.
  • @4string that was a question I'd be curious about as well!
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14404
    Generally speaking, Fender MIM Jazz Bass models use the pickup rout positions of the Sixties version. The exceptions will be models badged as Seventies recreations.