Choosing an instrument for your child to learn and my unusual suggestion

I imagine many of the parents out there on tFB have considered how best to get their child to pick up an instrument, and perhaps being of the guitar minded you may not be as strict with forcing them to play an instrument until their little fingers bleed and the trauma has set them on the path for a good dose of analysis in adult life.
The two main issues are these:

Which instrument?
Lessons or self-taught?

I grew up in a house with lots of LPs and musicals but no instruments. So I got my own by constantly pawning and working after school: harmonica, guitar, electric guitar, trumpet, flute, clarinet, drums, piano and finally organ. No lessons and I still can't read music (more about that later). Honestly, I wish someone half decent could've given me some instruction, but back then I doubt I would've found a chicago blues teacher out in the sticks of Hertfordshire.
Now that it's my turn to offer help to my children, I have chosen the soft approach, or the SRV approach. Instruments sit around the house. Music is on as much as the family permits. If they want to play, they can. If I see a smidgeon of interest, I'll support them.

My girlfriend got in the way and took my 8 year old to drum lessons. 3 months later and lockdown put a stop to that. He hasn't really mentioned it since.