Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Should I buy a short scale?

What's Hot
I'm a guitarist and I'm thinking about transitioning to bass, it wont be my first base but for now it'll be my only one. A short scale sounds like a good idea but every review is "great for kids/ladies/smaller guys" but i'm 6'2" and 13 stone so not petite!

I think i'm being put off by a cheap old P bass copy I had that would nose dive as soon as look at it.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• JasonJason Frets: 1103
    tFB Trader
    No idea if this helps, but I'm 6'2" too, on Friday I was in a recording studio and I had taken my P Bass, I'm not really a bass player but I didn't have one to hand :-) , anyway it was dead, no idea why, fortunately the studio had a Squier offset shortscale bass I could borrow, it was bloody lovely, the P Bass always feels too big after playing guitar, so I wouldn't worry about it, it sounded great too
    The Guitar Show, Cranmore Park, Birmingham | Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Podcast
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • slackerslacker Frets: 2234
    I went the other way from bass to guitar. I still have an EUB which is about 40 inch scale length. I also have an ashbory which is probably about 12 inch or something stupid. 

So on to the actual point if you are going to learn bass as a bassist and not someone who dabbles for recording etc get the bass that feels right regardless of scale length, string width and number. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • Jason said: