New home setup Behringer XR16 or XR18?

What's Hot
ESBlondeESBlonde Frets: 3582
edited November 2020 in Studio & Recording
Speak to me oh wise ones.

So I'm completely new to digital home recording but fully understand the mixing/bouncing down etc. from Tape days.
Since I'm going to buy a half decent laptop when I retire in a few weeks I thought I'd set myself up to record too. It then occurred to me that I could update my little indestructible live mixer with one of those XR16 or XR18 boxes and have potentially more control over the PA in a tiny package. The upside would appear to be using it as an audio interface for recording both live gigs and home recording. I think the XR12 might be too limiting in terms of inputs one in a while.
So the questions are:
A) Have I got it right and these little boxes will do live mixer and audio interface?
B ) Any experience from people here with these devices.
D) What happened to C.
4) Is one preferable to the other apart from Chan/bus options.  The 18 has Ultranet personal monitoring - whatever that is.
C) Ah! there it is.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• We have an XR16 for running the band IEM mix. It's worth noting that it is only a stereo audio in terms of USB recording and I dont think it can be used as an audio interface. I do know the XR 18 gets you multitrack recording.

Tbh though they are PA's not Audio Interfaces though.
    ဈǝᴉʇsɐoʇǝsǝǝɥɔဪቌ
  • PC_DavePC_Dave Frets: 3396
    I recently bullied the singer in my band to get an XR18 to help with monitoring and overall mix - I have to say it's great. It does work well as an interface, and you have have 18 tracks into your DAW if needed.

I assume you won't be using the wireless, but if you do then get a separate router.
    This week's procrastination forum might be moved to sometime next week.
  • MusicwolfMusicwolf Frets: 3652